

## International Rubber Study Group

## PRESS RELEASE

Singapore, 23/02/2022

The IRSG Secretariat is pleased to announce the election of Dr K.N. Raghavan, Executive Director, Rubber Board of India as the new Chairperson of the IRSG Heads of Delegation. Dr Raghavan has been elected unanimously by the IRSG Member Governments' representatives and will stay in the position for two terms (2022-2024).

Since 2019 Dr Raghavan is the Executive Director of the Indian Rubber Board, previously he was working as Principal Commissioner of GST and Central Excise, Mumbai Central.

Dr Raghavan, a native of Kochi, completed his MBBS from Calicut Medical College in 1988. He joined Indian Revenue Service in the year 1990. He served the Government in various capacities which include Commissioner of Customs Kochi, Deputy Director, Directorate of Revenue Intelligence, Calicut; Managing Director of Kerala Co-operative Rubber Marketing Federation; CEO of Co-operative Medical College, Kochi and CEO of NORKA ROOTS. He was First Secretary (Commerce) in High Commission of India, Singapore.

About the International Rubber Study Group (IRSG): The International Rubber Study Group (IRSG), recognized as an International Body through the negotiation of a Headquarter Agreement with the Government of the United Kingdom in 1978 is an intergovernmental organisation with the main objectives of improving the transparency of the world rubber market and strengthening the international cooperation on rubber issues. The Study Group has no provision for market intervention activities of any kind and is independent from the private sector. The IRSG secretariat is based in Singapore.